NaNoWriMo — Thrills and Chills

Posted: September 30, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

50,000 words, here I come.  Hemingway said that being a writer means that every day you stare at a blank piece of paper until blood comes gushing out of your forehead.

So NaNoWriMo begins in a month.  (If you missed yesterday’s blog you can read about NaNoWriMo there.)  I’ve been thinking about it all last month when I decided to join the challenge.  That’s been just enough time to go from being super jazzed to freaking myself out at all the work it will be!  What on earth did I get myself into?  I can’t back out now, though, because I was smart enough to tell about two dozen people.  That was my insurance policy so that when I hit the freak out point I wouldn’t back out.

Like an athlete, I’ve been getting into shape by writing every day, using daily writing prompts to challenge me.  More about that in a future blog.

I’ve been reading and researching how to survive NaNo.  More tips about that later, too.

I’ve been learning how to write mystery novels ever since my friend Melissa talked me into it.  See yesterday’s blog for that story.

Today I found out about WordPress’ post a day challenge.  I figured that since I’m writing on daily prompts anyway, I might as well put them here in a daily blog.  So look for those here.

I’m also going to create a reading list of all the great reference books I’ve found that have been revealing the mysteries of writing mysteries.

If any of you would like to go totally crazy and cut yourself off from the real world during the month of November, ping and after you’ve signed up for NaNo.  I’d love to share stories with you.

If you want to be a cheerleader, I welcome that, too.

It’s going to be a fun month.

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

