By morning, one of them will be dead.

Posted: October 5, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

NaNo rules say that collaboration is allowed as long as only one person is doing the writing.  So I’m collaborating with my partner of twenty-two years, Cee Neuner.  We’re one of those rare couples who work well together professionally.  We’ve done it quite a bit over the years in our day jobs.  We would prefer it, in fact.  It’s unusual to have this kind of comfortable working relationship.  It’s magical.

We are two very different people in the way we think and see the world.  What makes the union work is that although we think completely opposite, we always meet in the same place.  I’m a wordsmith, she’s a photographer.  She thinks in color and sees the world through photographic scenes.  I think in symbols of black and white that I use to create color in a reader’s mind.  She wears bright tie-dyed tee shirts, batik printed caftans or flowing skirts.  I’m wearing a locker room gray tee shirt and jeans right now.  You get the idea. 

What she brings to the effort are astounding moments of brilliance.  I thought I had a good opening chapter all blocked out in my head.  She came up with a better one.  I know it was better because I can’t remember what mine was.  She blew it right out of my  mind.  Want to know how it goes?

Scene opens on the local coffee shop.  It’s a hopping place early on a Monday morning.  Jam packed with people and lots of chatter.  Noisy.  Bustling.  We focus in on three individuals.   We get a brief description of each one.  Not too much detail but just enough that we can start to see them.  The 45 year old Brooks Brother business type.  The drop dead gorgeous, tall, athletic woman.  The almost invisible, totally unremarkable middle aged woman with nondescript everything.  They don’t know or notice each other, but we notice them.   We don’t know who they are or what they do for a living, but we do find out one thing about them…. that soon their lives will be inexorably intertwined and by morning, one of them will be dead.

Camera fades to black.

So did we hook you?  Do you want to read more?

Cee could imagine the setting after we stopped by our coffee place during our location shoot.  Once she described the opening scene, she wasn’t sure of where to go next, but it was easy for me to write the ending.  Piece of cake.  It screamed out at me.  Writing it is going to be a snap.

That’s what good collaboration is all about.

Stop by and check out Cee’s photography and her daily photo blog.  She hosts eight international photography groups on the internet, so contact her if you are interested in photography.

Blessings, my friend!  Thanks for dropping by.

Comments
  1. Neeks says:

    Yea, you have me wanting to know more! Awesome opening, wish I had thought of it.

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    It’s so fun to be working together again!!! We are going to have a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

