Do not sleep with a murderer

Posted: October 6, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I have a bit of advice for you, dear friend.  Do not sleep with a murderer.  It can be brutal, wicked, and leave you feeling drained in the morning.  Or like you’ve been run over by a Mac truck, which is how I feel today.  Hit and run.  Flat as a pancake.  Here’s what happened…

I took last night off.

A big mistake.  My creative alter ego is getting used to the light of day and doesn’t like being shoved back into the closet.  Writing is an addiction.  I started this process a year ago by finally challenging myself to keep a journal.  I wasn’t always faithful.  Lots of days started out with, “I don’t know what to say today”, and ended a few sentences later.  But as the addiction has grown, I spend a lot at time at the keyboard.  I start my day with my journal, then do this blog, then focus on my novel’s outline.  I’m thinking about a whole series of books, actually two series of mystery novels.  I have the sickness, but good.

Everybody needs a little play time, though, right?  My day job is demanding.  Cee turned me on to a computer game, My Kingdom for the Princess, and I got a little hooked.  So I gave myself the night off.  It felt good.  I was fine with it.  Bedtime came.  I was nice and relaxed.  I feel asleep in the living room in front of the TV, woke up enough to stagger into bed, anticipating a great night’s sleep… until my head hit the pillow and that darned book slapped me in the face.

I kept hearing bits of dialogue.  Scenes and settings were floating in front of me.  I kept grabbing them, trying to stuff them into my mental pockets so I could find them again in the morning, terrified that moments of utter genius were escaping me.  I don’t think a mystery writer ever won the Pulitzer or the Nobel prizes, but I was certain that dream book would have.

So here I am.  It’s 4:38 in the morning and I’m too tired to care.   Sigh!

Never go to bed with a murderer.  It can kill a good night’s sleep.

Blessings!

Comments
  1. Cee Neuner says:

    That’s too funny!!! Glad you liked the computer game though!

  2. rfid says:

    Hello would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

