I owe it all to you, Steve Jobs

Posted: October 8, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I have to talk a little bit about Steve Jobs.  I owe him everything.  He is the direct reason why I can indulge myself in the writing I do.  It’s amazing all the strange ways one person can impact another.  The world we live in is an interesting place.

I’ve mentioned before that I started journal writing a year ago and that led into freeing up my creative spirit so that I can take on NaNoWriMo and mystery writing.  For the last forty years I’ve wanted to journal.  I feel its the best way to get to know yourself, and I was on a journey of self discovery.  I think it’s the most therapeutic tool you can find.  But I never did it.  Why not?  I had the average person’s fear of the blank page. I didn’t think I had anything worth saying, which obviously wasn’t true or I wouldn’t have such a desire to write.  I’ve read stacks of books about journal writing.  I’ll send you a list if you want it.  I’ve read stacks of other people’s journals and found them fascinating.   They’ve made me green with envy.

I could get beyond some of the psychological reasons for not writing but I was stumped at the mechanical reasons for not writing.  I flunked penmanship in grade school.  Yes, we had such a course.  We had it every year.  It was a Catholic school back in the days of nuns in full habits, so what else would you expect.  I can’t read my own writing.  When I write a lot my hand cramps up and starts jerking, making the writing even harder to read.

I think too fast to write, and almost too fast to type, but typing was my only option.  That kept me hooked to a desktop.  Not very portable.  I wanted something that I could carry with me and write when I was inspired.  Then came the iPad.  Portable.  Allowed typing.  Batteries that lasted a long time.  A fun display to mess with.  Apps that allow me to write and then sync wirelessly up to my desktop so I could save what I wrote.  Who would have thought it possible?  Only Steve Jobs.

My iPad is an intimate place in which to write.  I’m right there, talking to it, watching my words appear just in front of me, not up on some screen an arm’s length away.   The Apple folks talk about making computing an intimate, personal experience, and I know what they mean by that.  My iPad made me want an iMac, so I have finally broken away from the tyranny of that accursed Microsoft world.

Macs are designed for creative people.  They are elegant, simplistic machines that pack a punch.  As a writer, I love using Scrivener, a software application developed especially for writers, and until recently only available for the Mac.  (There is a beta version for Windows out now.) Not only it is incredibly well thought out and efficient, but it’s cheap.  Amazing!  Something that works well and is under priced for it’s functionality.  Perfect for the artist in me.

I used to laugh at those Mac vs. Windows commercials.  I hated my PC but didn’t understand that computing could be different.  It can be, and it is.

With an iPod, iMac and iPad, I have three out of the four product lines.  I love them all.  If I used a cell phone more I’d be getting an iPhone.  Steve Jobs has fully integrated his vision into my world, and I love it.  May his passion, creativity and marketplace savvy continue in those he trained.  You were an amazing person, Steve Jobs, and I will miss you.  Enjoy your new freedom.

Comments
  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Awesome!!! And yes the IMac’s make computing so much nicer, easier and different. I love them. Great tribute to a wonderful creative person!

  2. Katy says:

    I converted to Apple almost 5 years ago now and my oh my, why the hell didn’t I do it sooner?!

    Those dear memories of my PC shutting down at the most inopportune moments, the increasingly slow speed of every program (not to mention the time it took to start up), and my fondest memory of all: being told I had ‘completed an illegal operation’ when trying to do the most innocent of tasks.

    IHe really was a visionary and I can only hope that Apple will continue to be amazing without him.

  3. Katy says:

    I converted to Apple almost 5 years ago now and my oh my, why the hell didn’t I do it sooner?!

    Those dear memories of my PC shutting down at the most inopportune moments, the increasingly slow speed of every program (not to mention the time it took to start up), and my fondest memory of all: being told I had ‘completed an illegal operation’ when trying to do the most innocent of tasks.

    He really was a visionary and I can only hope that Apple will continue to be amazing without him.

Leave a Reply

