That is what changes you!

Posted: October 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

My friend, Galen Leeds, is a magnificent nature photographer.  (Visit his blog and read about his fun adventures.  I loved “How to keep your kayak from sinking using a burrito and band-aids”.)

Galen commented on my blog yesterday:

“It sounds like she isn’t the only one who’s life has been changed by getting sucked into this murder. Do you find that you too can look into the eyes of the people in this book, and be able to see if their death is (or will be) written there? (Possibly pun intended)”

I felt that such good questions definitely deserve an answer.

Has my life been changed by getting sucked into this murder?  Yes, but I’m not sure how yet.  I’m seeing changing perspectives.  I needed something to shake me up.  The tremors are still ongoing, though, so I’m not sure where I’m going to end up.  Like Alice Anne, it’s time for a change.

Can I look into my characters’ eyes and foresee their death?  No, and that is the great fun of it.  I love the adventure of writing a mystery.  I think I know what is going to happen, or think I know the essence of a character (I made them all up, after all), and then something happens and like a kaleidoscope, the scene and the people in them changes and we’re off on a new journey.  It’s amazing how stories take on a life of their own.  When I’m writing something with a plot line like a mystery, I am subconsciously drawing on every experience I’ve ever had.  Those experiences combine deep in my mind into a thought that just bubbles up.  When it pops to the surface it’s like a little explosion of words and feelings that I translate into little electronic blobs of ink on the page.

Galen, I can only imagine what it must feel like to be out on the water just as the sun is awakening the earth.  It’s still, quiet.  You’re bobbing slightly on the water, camera ready, looking, waiting.  Slowly you focus, adjust the camera, watch, hold your breath and capture that special moment.  Where do you go in those few heartbeats?  What are you thinking?  Are you aware of what you are saying to yourself?  Of time passing?

Writing, when it is flowing organically, holistically, is like that.  Words happen without thought, without breathing.  They just happen and sometimes I’m amazed at what comes out.  And that, my friend, is what changes you!

Blessings!

Comments
  1. I am very touched that you dedicated a whole post to my questions. You answered them very well, but even better, I am glad that there is still a lot of mystery to your mystery, especially for you

Leave a Reply

