Find the Language of Your Life

Posted: October 26, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

After spending a year writing a journal and now finally giving myself permission to extend that to this blog and a novel, I am truly feeling the freedom and joy that comes with allowing myself to be me.  It is heady.  It is invigorating.  It is what gets me out of bed in the morning.

If you ever read any books on the craft of writing, the first and best advice you will receive is to be a writer you have to… (1) sit your back end down in the chair and write and (2) read.  A lot.  Everything.  All the time.

I’ve always had (2) down pat.  I can’t stand being without something to read, even if it is something I’m not interested in.  I’m drunk on the little black and white symbols that convey meaning.  I always have a handful of books and a couple of magazines going at the same time.  In his book, “On Writing”, Stephen King gives a list of what he had read while writing that book.  It was an intriguing journey into his mind.  The books were mostly fiction, some true classics and Pulitzer Prize winners, some were thrillers. My list would be more eclectic, ranging from Malcolm Gladwell (social psychology)  to Karen Armstrong (comparative religion) and is rounded out with books on writing and my favorite type of mystery story, the cozy mystery.  “Popular Science” and “Mental Floss” are my two favorite magazines.  I would read the “Wall Street Journal” every day if I weren’t too cheap to buy a subscription.  My favorite podcast is On Being, an ongoing discussion of meaning, religion and ethics on public radio.

So what about (1)?  I’m getting pretty good at that, too.  My journal has grown from about one hundred words a day, and those being various ways of saying that I don’t know what to write about, to almost a thousand words a day.  It’s the first thing I do in the morning.  It’s my time with me, and what to write about is no longer a problem.  How to quit writing and get on with other things is.  I’m no longer threatened by the blank piece of paper.  When I’m not completely bogged down by a head cold from hell, like I have been this past week, then this blog gets done as well.  Beyond that, I am close to achieving my goal of writing 2,000 words a day on a novel.  I have my NaNoWriMo novel ready to begin in a few days, and another that I’ve started.

Keeping my journal has opened up a world of possibilities to me.  I would encourage all of you to do it.  It lets you meet you.  You don’t have to journal with words, either.  My partner, Cee, keeps a daily photography journal because the language of her life involves a lens.  You can keep a sketchbook if you are an artist, or do short videos.  There are thousands of ways you can look into your own soul.  It’s an incredible journey.  Please be kind enough, interested enough to take the journey.  You won’t regret it.

Happy Diwali to everyone.  This is my favorite Indian celebration, and one during which I take time to celebrate having good friends from that land so far away.  Namaste!  If you aren’t familiar with Diwali, you can follow this link to a National Geographic Kids page.  I always find that kids’s material is the best place to learn about anything new.

Many Blessings!

Comments
  1. I have a private journal I keep, and then my blog journal, and then professional blogs, and then notebooks for thoughts. There are lots of areas I write, and I just love it!

    What’s your favorite part of writing? I just love that it releases the stress in my life. That’s the best part. 🙂

Leave a Reply

