Halfway and doing great! NaNoWriMo update

Posted: November 15, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

My friends,

It’s half way through November and I’m in a writing frenzy.  29,930 words.  So I remain ahead of schedule.  Hooray!

I’m still trying to come up with a good title, though.  Not that I need one to finish NaNoWriMo.  Just thinking ahead is all.  This is going to be a series of whodunits, so I want something I can parlay into similar names that will reflect the series.

If you are a fan of the TV show, “Castle” like I am, then you will probably know that the mystery stories the main character Rick Castle writes have actually been published.  In a nice blurring of fiction and reality, Amazon’s author page for Rick Castle even shows the actor who plays him in the show.  His detective is named Nikki Heat, and the titles of the books in that series are “Naked Heat”, “Heat Rises” and “Heat Wave”.  That’s what I’m going for in my titles.

Cee’s been batting around ideas based on some of the characteristics of my main character, Alice Anne McDonnell, who is a grief counselor that gets sucked into investigating an apparent suicide that might actually be a murder.  Dear Alice Anne is the most boring person on earth, and a list-aholic.  She lives by lists.  She goes to the extreme with them.  If she completes something that isn’t on a list, she’ll add it to a list in retrospect just so she can cross it off.  We’re batting around ideas about that. “The Banker’s List Murder”?

My classic version of Clue arrived today, so this weekend I’m going to introduce Cee to it.

So that’s about all that’s new here.  I hope you are following your passion and having a fun life.  Go dance in the rain.

Blessings!

 

 

Comments
  1. Kemi says:

    Hi,
    Alice in MurderLand
    The list of them
    ?
    Lol- I hope you come up w

  2. Louise (RB Akrotiri) says:

    Oooooh – Miss Scarlet with the Dagger in the Library!!! Have fun Cee!!

    Chris – one of my faves is Harry Kemelman who wrote the Rabbi Small Novels. He had a good way of linking the stories together (although they were all stand alone stories). See here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harry_Kemelman

    So you could use the ‘list’ idea or the person idea, or both like:
    An Alice Anne Novel: the Banker’s List Murder
    An Alice Anne Novel: the Master List Murder
    An Alice Anne Novel: the Guest List Murder
    …the Shopping List
    …the Mailing List

    I hope these stimulate some more conversation and even if you don’t like them, that helps narrow down a title too!!

    • Harry Kemelman, now there is a name I haven’t heard for a long time. I absolutely love the Rabbi Small books. I used to own every one of them.

      I love the list idea, too. Great suggestions. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

