The Pain of NaNoWriMo

Posted: November 20, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I learned about NaNoWriMo in a very round about way, through the blog of the developer who wrote the journal writing app for my iPad.  (For those of you looking for one, get Chapters.  It’s excellent.) He commented that someone using his app had won NaNoWriMo.  Nothing else, just that brief mention, but I had to find out what that was.  I’m curious that way, and the internet is my playground.  I’m always looking things up.  It often gets in the way of my productivity.  I know because the idea of the number of words in English just popped into my head, so I got diverted to looking that up.  I’m not going to tell you, though.  I’ll save that fascinating topic for another blog.

Where was I?  Ah, yes, NaNoWriMo.  So once I had found out about it, I quite naturally had to read everything I could find on the subject.  There is a lot to read, believe me.  One of the themes was how to cope with the pain of NaNoWriMo.  Lots of people complain about writer’s cramp or carpal tunnel syndrome from writing or doing all that typing.  I couldn’t believe what I was reading.  I sit at a desk all day long for the job that pays the bills, and I spend a lot of time on the computer on the weekend because I’m a nerd.  I’ve never had problems with carpal tunnel.  What babies!  What weaklings!  What whiners!

Dear friends, I come before you today eating a huge serving of humble pie.  I am in pain.

My creative side, once unleashed, has taken over and I am writing my novel in record time.  I have been writing every spare moment I can, or so it seems.  Hours a night have been spent at the keyboard after my day job has ended.  Yesterday I wrote almost 4,000 words.   I have found about fifty-seven ways to end dialogue other than by saying “he/she said”, and all without those nasty adverbs that Stephen King rails against.  I have been on fire!

And now I am in pain.  My back is killing me.  It’s going into spasms when I try to look over my shoulder.  I spent last evening sitting in a high backed chair with a heating pad trying to warm sore muscles.

I realized that my day job might be spent in front of the computer, but I spend my time on conference calls, not in typing.  The only typing I do is to answer emails.  I don’t have the muscles to hold myself up and type for hours at a time.  Isn’t this the saddest tale you have ever heard?

If I’m going to attempt NaNoWriMo next year I’ll have to hire a personal trainer and a masseuse.  Maybe get a hot tub.  I will have to give this some thought.

Ah, the writer’s life!

My advice to you:  go live your passion but set a few dollars aside for physical therapy.

Blessings!

Comments
  1. amberrosalie says:

    I hope you’re not in too much pain! You’re going so well with your novel (well, by your word count and what you’ve told us about it). I hope this injury is only very temporary and doesn’t hinder your writing time. I can’t wait to read that first chapter either! 🙂
    Amber.

Leave a Reply

