Chapter 1 author notes – Setting Up the Murder

Posted: November 23, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m closing in on the NaNoWriMo prize.  I’ll be ready to claim it when they open up for submissions on the 25th.  Winning is like running a marathon… if you finish, you’ve won.

I’ve had a number of friends all say that they can’t wait to read it or, better yet, want to buy a copy.  Oh, how I wish that a draft written at the speed of light where ready for release as soon as I type “THE END”.  Wouldn’t that be wonderful.  I patiently explain that this is the draft and now I have to edit it.  That editing takes a while.  I avoid the whole discussion of what it takes to get a publisher to pick up your novel.  That would deflate them.

When I’m done writing, Cee will take over from me, bless her heart, and do the first edit.  I already know I will need more details in places.  Continuity has become a big issue for one of the supporting characters.  He’s a nice guy but I don’t think he would have been able to do all the things I claimed he’s done in the last few years.  I have to make his life make better sense.

One of the bad guys I can see clearly in my mind, but for the life of me I can’t remember what last name I gave him.  I don’t want to take the time to go skimming through previously written chapters to try to find it right now, so all mention of him at the end of the book refers to XXX.  Cee has to discover his full name, and make sure I didn’t give anyone else a name change half way through.  I created character profiles before I started but as the story took on a life of its own I chucked them out the window.

I’m afraid my main character, the sleuth who solves the whole riddle, went rather two dimensional in the middle.  She’s come back into her own at the end of the book, and I rather like her, but in the middle it was rather like dealing with a teenager.  I didn’t know how to relate to her.  So now I’ll go back in and fix up the muddy parts.

I am so thrilled to have a partner who is willing to do the first edit for me.  I lived with all the people in this book for so long that I need a bit of a break from them.  Absence makes the heart grow fonder.

I can feel the opening chapter of the second book in the Alice Anne series starting to bubble to the surface, though, so I’ll be knee deep in red herrings and murder again soon.

I’ll tell you about the second book soon.  For now, I think I’ll turn off the computer and go watch my favorite crime show, NCIS, before heading to bed.

Takes for keeping me company on the journey, dear friend.

Blessings!

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    Congrats for getting as far as you have! I am a bit behind on word count at the moment, but I will be in the nano winner’s circle with you, I am certain of it. What a journey, eh? And so exciting that you have an idea for the next book…. Way to go!

  2. Louise says:

    It’s interesting to hear that characters started with an idea then grew and developed and changed along the way. It must be a fascinating process to create a character and then have them reveal more of themselves to you… Thanks for sharing your story with us Chris, it’s been a great insight (well, a small glimpse) into the complexity of writing. How is your back holding up?

Leave a Reply

