The Morning After

Posted: November 26, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

NaNoWriMo, the morning after.

I didn’t sleep in.  I’m too used to getting up hours before dawn.  It seems surreal that I’ve done NaNoWriMo.  After a year of daily writing, the discovery of NaNo, and then one intense month, I have fulfilled a lifelong desire.  I have become a writer.  It feels good.

In my excitement to get the book presented for validation, I completely forgot to write my journal yesterday.  The biggest day of the year, and presumably one of the biggest days of my life, and I forget to write about it.  How’s that for ironic, funny and a little silly?

To celebrate, I ordered a new computer.  I’ll be getting Apple’s MacBook Air.  My book was written on my iPad, but with the Air, which is an ultralight laptop for those of you who don’t know, I’ll be able to use Scrivener and write directly into that.  Scrivener is a professional tool used to write, edit and compile manuscripts.  I am a writer, and now I’m getting a full complement of writer’s tools.

Golly, it makes me feel like a real grownup!

I have a couple of friends who are going to be helping with the editing.  The brunt of the work will still fall on Cee, but our friends get to read the book and make their suggestions.  Editing has begun in earnest.

Chapter 1 of the new book is done.

I’m researching what to do with the first book.  I will self-publish it, but not in print.  It will be available as an ebook only.  I don’t know if I will ever submit my books to a publishing house.  It’s such a hassle and a huge, frustrating game, from everything I’ve read.  Sure, I’d love to get instantly rich being America’s newest, hottest best selling author.  Who wouldn’t?  But the publishing game has changed.  Now they are looking for new authors who come with a “platform”, a base of dedicated readers who will keep buying that author.   It’s expensive to produce and market a book, and risky if it doesn’t fly, so they’re hedging their bets by picking up people who already have a track record. But how do you get a track record if you can’t get anyone to publish your book so people can buy it?  Catch 22.

There is a lot to know about this business.  You have to read constantly, keeping up on a shifting market.  Even the business of sending a book to a publisher is complicated, with sending an inquiry letter, formatting your manuscript in a certain manner, and keeping records of your submissions.

Even e-publishing takes a lot of research to understand how to create an ebook, where to list it for sale, finding the readers who will like your genre and doing your own marketing.  While you’re doing all of that, you have to keep writing new material and showing up at your day job.

Now that NaNo is over, I can catch up on reading Writers Digest, but most importantly of all, I’m going to write.

The journey continues….

Blessings, my friend.

Leave a Reply

