L.J. Sellers and Detective Jackson

Posted: December 14, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve been starting to read the blogs of mystery writers who have hit the best seller list.  Part of being a writer is to write, but the other part is to read, read, read.  I look for tips on writing, developing characters and plots, adding color, exploring the creation of dialogue.  I study my craft.  Now that we are editing the first book I can see how much I grew while writing “The Banker’s Murder List”.  My second book, The Missing List (working title) is benefiting from all I’ve learned so far.

My newest find is L. J. Sellers and the Detective Jackson series.  I enjoyed her blog so much (new writers should read her recent blog about Amazon) that I had to sample her detective novels.  She does a wonderful job of feeding you the details and building suspense at the same time.  The Detective Jackson series is set in the college town of Eugene, Oregon, just a few hours down the road from where I live.  Small world!

For writers, though, another treat from L.J. is her book on writing, “Write First, Clean Later”, a compilation of her blogs, chock full of good advice for writers.  Even if you aren’t a writer, her blogs give a fun insight into the craft of writing.  I think what I appreciate most about L.J. is her great sense of humor that surrounds practical advice.  Go out to Amazon and sample it.  The price is fabulous right now as Amazon is working to promote her.  The eBook version is on sale for $0.99 USD.  You won’t find a better bargain.  Treat yourself to a new addition to your reference library.  You’ll be glad you did.

Blessings!

Comments
  1. L.J. Sellers says:

    Thanks so much for the shout out! Writing this series has been the most rewarding work I’ve ever done. Mostly because so many readers have contacted me to express their pleasure. What a joy for me. Best wishes in the new year!

Leave a Reply

