Help! I’m lost on the internet and can’t find my way home!!!

Posted: December 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

I don’t know about you but I find myself getting lost on the internet very quickly.  I find one good blog to read and that leads to three more and those lead to an exponential number of open tabs in my browser session.  Every time I want to tell you about every single one of them because they are so much fun.  I started clipping them with Evernote but even that is getting unmanageable.  Wow!  The instant gratification of the net!!  So here is a top ten list of what I’ve found this evening.  I hope you enjoy them.  Let me know if you have any favorites that would appeal to me.  I love new adventures.

Brain Pickings is blog about a little bit of everything.   “Brain Pickings is a human-powered discovery engine for interestingness, culling and curating cross-disciplinary curiosity-quenchers, and separating the signal from the noise to bring you things you didn’t know you were interested in until you are.”

My newest addiction is Pinterest where people pin up interesting things they discover.  Things like this treehouse or this the Holstee Manifesto.

Or sometimes I just find interesting articles, like 20 Mind Melting Examples of Light Painting.

Have you ever seen Typography Portraits?  I love typography.  It’s fascinating to see how evocative type face can be.

My favorite magazine are mental_floss (Where Knowledge Junkies Get Their Fix) and Popular Science.

But the absolute ultimate in food for your brain has to be TED, described as “Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world”.  Check out Mathemagic, which is guaranteed to astound you even if you don’t like math.  Listen to the very remarkable Sarah Kaye talking about “If I should have a daughter”.  There is so much to explore on TED that you could spend a life time visiting with some of the greatest minds of our time.

Where do you spend your internet time?

Blessings!

Comments
  1. I know exactly how you feel (great suggestions – especially TED). Somehow the spaceship “cruise” in Wall.e comes to mind. I’m quickly becoming an Internet potato.

  2. The problem is Chris, I am trying to limit my time in front of the screen, not find more reasons to be there! It is endless for sure. Makes my head spin. That’s why I haven’t started pinterest yet!!! Agh and happy new year! Margie

  3. hello! Glad I found you…..you mentioned TED…an amazing amount of mind expanding info, yeah? I’ve spent countless hours reading and watching there!

    Loved your “Winter” pic, BTW…. I’ve never been to the Pacific Northwest, but it is definitely on my vacation list.

    will visit your blog again, for sure. 🙂 Happy New Year!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

