How We Live Our Lives – Breaktime for Mac

Posted: January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I recently took a time management class through my day job.  One of the practices that was advocated was multitasking.  An example of that was to write a report while eating your lunch.  Whatever happened to the idea of eating your lunch while eating your lunch?  Why do we have to be over achievers, always striving to get more done? 

If you are a Mac user, you can even buy an app called BreakTime that actually forces you to take breaks.  It will dim your screen and not let you back in until you walk away from your screen for a little while.  Imagine that!  I think it might be a good thing, especially if it would throw a message up on a blank screen.  Maybe a big “BREATHE!” would be nice to see from time to time, don’t you think?

Let’s savor the simple things in life.  One of the lessons I’ve learned the hard way is that life can take sudden twists and turns, throwing all your plans out the window for you.  In an instant, your world can be turned upside down and inside out.  You have a serious accident.  You lose your job.  You suffer the death of someone you love.  Why are we racing through life as if the prize is at the end of life, and not with us in every moment of every day?  Life is all around us if we will just open our eyes and see it, appreciate it.  Stop to feel the happiness.

Quit your multitasking.  Take a break right now, staring with a deep, relaxing breath.  Now go hug someone you love.  Ring a friend up on the phone.  Send out some emails of appreciation.  It’s break time.  Time to breathe and share some love.

Blessings!

Read the preview of my new book, an Alice Anne  mystery:  “The Banker’s Murder List.”

Comments
  1. Margie says:

    So true Chris. I’m usually pretty good about being in the moment. I am thankful my life allows me to do as I please as well. That certainly helps.

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I might have to go hug someone right now!!!

  3. Amy says:

    Amen. Multitasking is actually counter-productive. Real breaks offer you a chance to refresh and restore, and actually increase productivity. Love your suggestions- especially the hugs! 🙂

  4. Okay I’ll quit after I tell you what a great post this is 🙂

  5. Bongo says:

    Does that mean when I play fetch I should only bring back one stick at a time instead of two? My person says she really likes this post.

  6. Kate Kresse says:

    Chris: I am giving your blog The Lovely Blog Award. Why? Because it IS lovely. YOur writing, your photography, your insights…well-they are wonderful and lovely. Here is the link for the badge and info. http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2012/01/20/it-is-beginning-to-look-like-bragging-but/

Leave a Reply

