Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope

Posted: January 29, 2012 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is Hope.  Normally the weekly photo challenges aren’t much of a challenge, if you discount trying to figure out where in your computer you put the picture that popped up in your head.  But hope, that’s a hard one.  I don’t see hope as a visual.  I feel it.  I hear it.  I think I can even smell it.  I can write paragraphs about it, but I can’t picture it.

I was mulling that over when I went outside to walk to the mailbox.  The world was still covered by a thick layer of heavy frost, but I could see the buds on our neighbor’s magnolia tree, and the crocuses and dutch irises poking their stems out of the earth.  It’s almost February.  Next month I’ll start mowing the grass.  If I wait until March it will be too high to plow through.  Things are already coming alive as we pass the half way point of winter.

Hope for me is the early morning sky, the opening buds in spring, the little winter birds chirping and flitting in the winter air, harbingers of the bigger songbirds that will begin arriving soon.  Hope is the days getting longer and the air warmer.  Hope is the glory of new green leaves and the daffodils that trumpet the immanent arrival of the the brilliant colors of tulips.

Blessings!

Read the preview of my new book, an Alice Anne  mystery:  “The Banker’s Murder List.”

Comments
  1. amberrosalie says:

    I love your idea of Hope.
    The photos are gorgeous, the first one being my favourite. 🙂
    Amber. xx

  2. pix & kardz says:

    Your images of hope fit the bill perfectly 🙂
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. rutheh says:

    Yes, a perfect response to the challenge Hope!

  4. Anita Mac says:

    The images are great for an image of hope! Love it.

  5. amira says:

    Those photos are filled with so much hope.
    I guess flowers, new blooms, and colours all carry the message of hope 🙂

  6. diggingher says:

    Lovely. I always associate new spring flowers with hope. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Northern Narratives says:

    The Hope of spring is beautiful.

  8. Sunshine says:

    Wow! That’s some awesome buds you got growing there Chris! Ahh, the hope of Spring! Yes, I can go for that!

  9. cobbies69 says:

    Really nice collection..;)

  10. Chris,

    Thanks for visiting my “punny” photoblog and leaving a “like”! Also thanks for these beautiful HOPE-ful shots that are a reminder that winter isn’t forever!

    John: TheDailyGraff.com

  11. Beautiful words and photos Chris. Margie

  12. jakesprinter says:

    Great entry for this week theme my friend 🙂
    http://wp.me/1Dwwo

  13. Sony Fugaban says:

    You should resize the picture. It’ll look more beautiful.

  14. liontamar says:

    Great post…I agree this week was a challenge!!

  15. imexcited says:

    Beautiful photos!
    “I don’t see hope as a visual. I feel it. I hear it. I think I can even smell it.” – I agree.
    Btw, thanks for following my blog 🙂

  16. dadirri7 says:

    well said chris, and i had a similar reaction to ‘hope’ …. an image did not spring to mind … thanks for liking my effort though …i love your images, especially the tree … the wonder of the radiating branches and their hope of reaching the light! christine http://imagesoftheheart.wordpress.com/

  17. nelson RN says:

    Lovely images! I love the last one!

  18. Arindam says:

    Beautiful presentation of the word hope. Beautiful pose for this week’s challenge. Liked it a lot.

  19. Lovely post for this week’s challenge

  20. Patti Kuche says:

    Wow, what’s not to love with so much awesome hope in these fabulous shots! The colours are a spectacular combination. Happy mowing!

  21. Gracie Sam says:

    Lovely and inspiring post and beautiful photos as well.

  22. […] Chris Donner – beautiful pictures of spring flowers – a beautiful symbol of hope. […]

  23. suitablefish says:

    terrific photographs and post.

  24. SJPONeill says:

    Agree re hope being something less visual and that is something that made this challenge a bit more of a challenge than perhaps some others. Especially liked your thoughts about the winter birds – we see these a lot and wonder sometimes how they get by one seed at a time…

  25. Beautiful spring flowers are a symbol of hope. They speak to me of spring and summer, my favorite seasons. Lovely photos.

  26. Kathryn says:

    Signs of spring are indeed extremely evocative of hope. That last shot with the windmill is simply spectacular! Great composition and processing! Love it.

  27. Lovely photos! 🙂
    Thanks for checking out my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

