Flying Might Be Quicker – Unless You Love to Kayak

Posted: February 2, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Friends of ours in Perth, Australia were looking up where Cee and I live in Canby, Oregon, USA.  Just for the fun of it, they asked Google Maps to give them directions between the two cities.  It’s a bit of a journey at 13,642 miles (21954 km), so I won’t give you all the details.  Here are the highlights:

1.  Drive north from Canby to Seattle, Washington (about three hours, give or take)

2.  Kayak across the Pacific Ocean to Hawaii (2756 miles)  (Yes, that’s what they truly recommend!)

3.  Kayak across the Pacific Ocean to Japan (3879 miles)

4. Drive the length of Japan.  (They warn you that you will be on a lot of toll roads, so do plan accordingly.)

5.  Kayak across the Pacific Ocean to Australia (3358 miles)

6.  Drive along the northwest coastline of Australia until you get to Perth.

Estimated journey:  13,642 mi – about 54 days 11 hours.  Provided you don’t lose your paddle or run out of money on all those Japanese toll roads.  How do they estimate the kayaking speed, do you think?

Or you could just fly, I suppose, although that might prove to be incredibly boring.

Blessings!

Read the preview of my new book, an Alice Anne  mystery:  “The Banker’s Murder List.”

Comments
  1. cobbies69 says:

    I have cousins in Sydney and Melbourne, Oz, and a very close friend in Everett, Seattle. and it takes him longer to get from Seattle to Florida than it does me from the UK. And therefore Kayak is a great big NO NO for me LOL 😉 Interesting…

  2. Cute post Chris! Crazy huh? Margie

  3. Amy says:

    omg, I so love this post. Makes me want to take the trip! 🙂

  4. ntexas99 says:

    pretty funny stuff … the visual sure does add an extra punch

  5. At least there would be plenty of fish to catch along the way. Great post 🙂

  6. Louise says:

    Hahahaha – I’m sitting here eating my breakfast with such a warm heart!! We might not take the kayak route mainly because one of our dogs gets sea sick, plus we risk arriving in the US with scrawny legs and an Incredible Hulk torso, although we haven’t fully ruled it out. LOL.
    You DO know we’re likely to get there one day, don’t you? x x 🙂

  7. Judy says:

    This is great! lol I just read your post to my husband and he said they used to say this on a trip request from Miami to London: drive to NYC and then SWIM across the Atlantic!

    I guess they’ve made a step up by putting people in kayaks! Wonder what’s next? A paddle boat?

  8. Fergiemoto says:

    That’s really funny! I had the same result that Judy had, but it was SWIM the Pacific Ocean. I laughed so hard. Kayaking would be faster though.

  9. Northern Narratives says:

    Great post 🙂 Maybe try a sailboat too.

    • I’ve passed this on to all my kayaking friends, and there are a lot of those in Oregon, and they’re all passing on the opportunity. Maybe it’s all the tool roads in Japan that they are finding too off putting?!

Leave a Reply

