Share Your World and a whole lot of other stuff

Posted: March 13, 2012 in Share Your World, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Friends, I don’t know where my head has been this past week.  I missed the weekly photo challenge and Cee’s Share Your World, so I’m going to try to catch up with myself.

Share Your World – Week 14

Here are the questions:

Who was your favorite Teacher – what grade and why?
What do you like most about your home?
If you were forced to change the name of your blog what would you change it to?
If a movie was made based on your life, what actor/actress would play you?

And here are my answers:Who was your favorite Teacher – what grade and why?  My favorite teacher was a nun, Sister Madeline.  She was a tall and stocky woman, built like a defensive end on an American football team.  A big, powerful woman who still wore a full habit in those days.  All we ever saw of her were two hands and her face.  The rest was smothered in yards and yards of brown wool.  She wore a large rosary (a long circle of beads with a big wooden cross attached to it) that hung from her waist almost to the floor.  She used to pace up and down the aisles while she lectured, swinging  this huge rosary around and around in a circle.  We had to pay attention or risk serious bodily harm from not ducking and dodging out of the way of that possibly lethal weapon.  We used to call her Mad Dog Madeline and she taught my 10th grade American History class.

Why is she my favorite teacher?  Because she recognized that I was bored and decided to do something about it.  She introduced me to Russian literature.  I read the classics like Tolstoy and Dostoevsky, but also the lesser known authors.  My personal favorites were the writings of Nikolai Gogol.  I had to also learn about the historic era in which these men wrote and had to be able to relate the story lines to my own life.  She challenged me to think and to dig deep down inside of me.  For that I will be forever grateful.

What do you like most about your home?  I like that it’s ours.  It’s a sensible house and it serves us well.  Cee would like just a little more space in every room.  I would like more yard and more trees in an area that isn’t covenant controlled and where I could build my labyrinth.  But the house serves us well for right now.  I’m rather fond of it.

If you were forced to change the name of your blog what would you change it to?  Lost and Found.  I write mystery stories featuring a grief counselor and a personal historian.  I explore ideas of loss and what they do to people long term if those losses aren’t dealt with.  But they aren’t deeply dark and depressing writings.  They’re uplifting in the end, because of the “Found” part of the title.  Everyone comes out with a better understanding of who they are and a greater appreciation for the people they love.

If a movie was made based on your life, what actor/actress would play you?  Golly, you have me there.  I really don’t know.  Sandra Bullock, because she can play such a wide range of emotions and character types.  She can do pathos, comedy, human sensitivity and vulnerability, brisk and commanding business woman, and she can see through her own foibles and come out the better person, and sell it convincingly.

Tough questions.  Now I know why I was avoiding them this week!  LOL

Good questions. They made me think.  Thanks, Cee.

Blessings!

Comments
  1. If Sister Madeline is still alive, you should track her down and thank her! 😉 Great story.

  2. Chris what a perfect and creative blog title change. Love that your house being yours is enough. I honestly wish more felt the same.

    Great answers, glad you caught uo. You know someone is missing but can’t put your finger on who.

  3. Louise says:

    Hi Cee,
    I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I know you’ve been awarded before but you’re really truly versatile and who says you can’t win again? By the way, Lost and Found is a fantastic name!! Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

