Weekly Writing Challenge: It had been years since…

Posted: April 16, 2012 in IAWTW Writing Challenge
Tags: , , ,

Time for another I Always Wanted To Write writing challenge.  You get to fill in the plot and add a few lines to it.  Here is your prompt.  I’ve added some choices for you but you don’t have to use them.  You can take the plot anywhere you want to.  Unleash the creativity of your inner novelist / playwright / artist.  Write as much or as little as you would like.  Get outrageous.  Have fun!

It had been ___ years since I had seen ____________ (name), my best friend in (high school /college / university).  I hadn’t planned on spending all those years apart from each other.  Who would have thought we’d meet by accident like this, in a coffee shop in the middle of (nowhere / bustling city / planet Xandria)?  What were the chances of this happening?  Yet, here we are, strangers, together after all these years.  I still remember the last time we (met / spoke / wrote)….

Blessings!

Comments
  1. […] that time again for Chris’s Writing Challenge.  This week she has us finishing this […]

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    It had been 25 years since I had seen my high school best friend. I wondered whether I would recognize Stephanie or not. Would she recognize me? Surely she would, I don’t feel that old? We haven’t seen each other since the summer we graduated from high school and now for some quirky reason we both have decided to meet at our high school reunion.

    see my complete answer with old photo of me at
    http://ceeslifephotographyblog.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=2429&action=edit&message=6&postpost=v2

  3. […]  /https://chrisdonnermysterywriter.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/weekly-writing-challenge-it-had-been-yea… […]

  4. […] fun. I came across this interesting blog in an effort to promote my own. Life is full of awesome surprises and amongst all those blogs out […]

  5. Thanks for doing this! I had a blast writing my version and hope you like it…you can read it on my blog (http://expertofnone.com/)…Jill of all trades…expert of none! I look forward to more weekly challenges.

  6. […] relatively new weekly writing challenge. To check out this week’s challenge, go HERE. You can also click on the bubble to see the main page for the IAWTW with a list of previous […]

  7. Judee says:

    I really enjoyed this, Chris, thanks for the inspiration! Here is mine, hope it’s not too long:
    http://writetuit.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/iawtw-challenge-reunion/

  8. eof737 says:

    I’m finally catching up but will have to come back and comment later on other/ future posts. Thanks for your patience! 🙂

  9. […] latest IAWTW Challenge from Chris Donner! I think I rambled for a bit too long, but that’s okay! Hope you’ve […]

  10. amberrosalie says:

    Nothing fancy or fantastical about mine this week. Haha. Just a simple little story. Fun to write though! 😀 I love these weekly challenges, they’re definitely inspiring me to write a lot of interesting pieces. (:

    http://amberrosaliewriting.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/iawtw-it-had-been-years-since/

    Amber. xx

  11. It had been a few years since I had seen Drew, my best friend in summer camp. I hadn’t planned on spending all those years apart from each other. Who would have thought we’d meet by accident like this, in a coffee shop in the middle of Istanbul? What were the chances of this happening? Yet, here we are, strangers, together after all these years. I still remember the last time we competed against each other on opposite soccer teams….

  12. […] relatively new weekly writing challenge. To check out this week’s challenge, go HERE. You can also click on the bubble to see the main page for the IAWTW with a list of previous […]

Leave a Reply

