Balloon Twisting, Anyone?

Posted: April 18, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I have to tell you about a secret love of mine, balloon twisting.  I love balloons.  I can’t think of any single thing that can bring an immediate smile to the face of a stranger than seeing balloons.  They are instant happiness.  I love balloons.

Cee and I recently attended a Red Hat Society Mad Hatter’s Tea Party. (Cee has more pictures on her blog.)  They had prizes for different types of hats (smallest, largest, most creative, etc.), but my hat took first prize.

For those  of you who were into such things, this was a simple hat using a red 260 for a head band, to which I tied five hearts in standard red, jewel tone red and purple.  Around the headband I tied a number of 160 flowers  in red and jewel orange.  The flowers appeared to be floating (no helium, though) and bobbed as I moved.  All my balloons are Qualatex.  For those of you who are not twisters (people who like to twist balloons into funny shapes), 160 and 260 refer to the size of the balloon when fully inflated.  160 = 1 inch in diameter and 60 inches long.  260 = two inches in diameter and 60 inches long.

See, when I’m not writing mystery stories, I do have my silly side.

Take some time to have fun today and make people smile!

Comments
  1. pkhawk says:

    Chris, though I have never attempted to get artistic with balloons, I do have a photo of one that I got from a nice man at IHOP locally. He was selling his wares, and I had seen him before doing wonders with his balloons. This time, however, several balloons began to pop while he was making something for a lady at a neighboring table. I knew he was embarrassed, so I commented, saying I had seen him work before, and that this was the very first time I had seen him having so much trouble with the balloons. They must have been of inferior quality.

    Anyway, after he finished making the balloon for the other lady, he asked what I liked. I said that as long as it looked like a horse, I would be as happy as a clam. He actually make one that looked like a buckskin horse. I took a photo with my cell phone camera, and keep it there.

    • He either was using low quality balloons, but more probably they were too old. If they get too warm they age quickly. When I’m working outside in the summer I keep them in a cooler full of ice to keep them fresh.

  2. judithatwood says:

    I loved that hat, and now that I know you twisted it yourself, I love it even more!

  3. Chris I just so happen to love silly sides. And a Red Hat event is the perfect place to showcase this great talent of yours.

    I was telling Cee that now the word is out and the photos too it would not surprise me if you are not commissioned for RHS gigs to begin with.And from there who knows…

    It just occurred to me that I think you should send this photo and more into the national RHS website. They are always into hearing about and seeing the photos of different events. And I think the twisted balloon hat is a hit that shoud be shared on the website that celebrates hats after all.

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    I was interested when I saw your hat on Cee’s blog. I thought the balloons might be slippery and slide off your head. The hat definitely brings a smile to my face. Nice post 🙂 Judy

    • Not really. You have to worry more about too much static electricity building up. You size the hat to the head, which always amazes kids when you do it to them. Custom made headgear.

      Professional entertaining balloons aren’t slippery. They’re actually rather sticky, when they aren’t floating away on you, and that’s why they make such an awful squeaking sound when you twist them.

  5. Margie says:

    You’re clearly dang good at it too!

  6. polly says:

    this is so neat awesome job.

  7. Fergiemoto says:

    Awesome! Soooo glad to see someone doing this – kudos to you! It seems to be becoming a lost art, sadly. I’ve seen balloon twisting put a smile on the face of children of all ages. One of my best friends has been a master balloon artist (twister) for over 40 years and he his awesome – he has great showmanship. He is also a professional clown and taught me how to make several balloon animals last year. I’ve seen him blow up 5 balloons at once by mouth, but I have to use a balloon pump. We volunteer together for a charity and his balloon twisting is always a hit with the young and old!

Leave a Reply

