Help End World Hunger – Free Rice

Posted: April 28, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I have just found the most extraordinary web site.  It’s been around for a few years, but I just discovered it through a blog on the New Hampshire Writers’ Network.  The blog is about how you use words and how to learn new ones.  It suggested playing word games to help improve your vocabulary, and included a link to Free Rice.  I’d never heard of this site.  The name intrigued me and, being a word junkie, I had to look it up.  Now I invite you to become as excited about this site as I am.

Free Rice in run by the United Nations World Food Programme.  The website has fun educational games that you can play.  For each correct answer, 10 grains of rice gets donated to the World Food Programme by corporations whose advertisements appear on the site.

The games start out easy but get increasingly more difficult the longer you play.  I’ve just been trying out the site for the first time and have earned 270 grains of rice.  That doesn’t come close to feeding one child for a day, but I’ll play some more after I finish this blog.

The games are appropriate for adults and children alike, so this is a wonderful opportunity for parents to teach a lot of lessons, I would think.  Free Rice has games for all the standard school categories and even have one for SAT preparation.  Your children can prep for their college entrance exams while helping to end world hunger!

How much rice does it take to feed a person for a day? How many grains of rice in a gram?

The composition of UN World Food Programme food basket varies from country to country and region to region, depending upon the eating habits of the people WFP feeds.In countries where rice is a staple part of the diet, World Food Programme provides, on average about 400 grams of rice per person, per day (for families, including children and adults). That is intended for two meals that include other ingredients to ensure a minimum of 2,100 kilocalories per day.
There are about 48 grains of rice in a gram.
So check out Free Rice, and then help spread the word.  Feed a hungry person and your mind at the same time.

Blessings!

Comments
  1. I’ve been doing this for about 2 years. Take no tume, costs so little of each of us and gives so much.
    My granddaughter, then 17 turned me on t this. She is my little second generation hippie I call her. My activist.

    Thanks so much for sharing this Chris. It never occurred to me, shamfully.

  2. ansuyo says:

    This is very interesting! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. […] Chris Donner wrote in her blog today about a website that gives  Free Rice and is in run by the United Nations World Food Programme.  The website has fun educational games that you can play.  For each correct answer, 10 grains of rice gets donated to the World Food Programme by corporations whose advertisements appear on the site. […]

  4. ansuyo says:

    Just went and fed someone for a day–addicting!

  5. Caddo Veil says:

    Thank you for this–I love learning new stuff, and helping in the process!!

  6. What an extraordinary idea! Love it! (and enjoying your blog, too 🙂
    anne

  7. bluebee says:

    I’ve just spent far too long over there! 😀

  8. Kate Kresse says:

    Reblogged this on Believe Anyway and commented:
    If you went on a hunger hike in the 70s to help end world hunger, or if you want to do something to help end hunger, you may like this. I heard of it through Chris Donner’s blog~

  9. Isn’t it wonderful how easy (and enjoyable) it can be to make a bit of a difference. By the way, I was struggling at level 47 (out of 60) where only about 50% of the words came to mind or were work-out-able. Seems I’ve a long way to go on my vocabulary, which I always thought was rather good! This was a great find – thank you.

  10. Reblogged this on The Wanderlust Gene and commented:
    Develop our vocabulary and become a humanitarian at the same time? Yes, it’s possible. Please go directly to Chris Donner’s site and read her excellent article about Free Rice – an initiative of the UN World Food Programme. I can guarantee you’ll have fun, learn new words – we could even start a competition – and feel a little virtuous all at the same time. In half an hour I donated about 1500 grains of rice – struggling at level 47 (out of 60). Lets see how far we can progress and see how much rice we can win for the UN’s rice programmes.

  11. Amy says:

    I love this website! Thanks for the reminder. I haven’t visited in awhile. You can’t beat building knowledge and assistance others at the same time. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Cara Olsen says:

    This is fabulous, thank you!

  13. jelillie says:

    This is so awesome! Thanks Chris! I am reblogging and putting on my Facebook and our church Facebook page!

  14. Great idea! I just signed up.

  15. Ann says:

    Thanks kindly,

    followed the link from Pastor J at http://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/help-end-world-hunger-free-rice/

    A friend introduced this to me some time ago but I haven’t played in a while. Thanks for the reminder.

    Blessings
    ann

  16. Thanks for sharing. What a fantastic idea.

  17. teamfreerice says:

    Hi Chris, thank you so much for sharing us! Thanks to word-of-mouth, we’ve managed to raise enough feed over 5 million people…. so far!

Leave a Reply

