Bragging Rights – My Picture Was On National TV

Posted: July 9, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

My picture was on national television… not a picture of me, but a picture by me.  A photo I took.  Talk about the ultimate bragging rights for a sometime hobbyist photographer.

Here’s the story:  Cee and I had watched a little television then gone back to her office to catch up on some blogging.  I checked my email and there was a letter from a production assistant for the television series American Pickers, which airs on the History channel.  He had found one of my photographs on line and they wanted to use it on the show.  If I was the Chris Donner who took the photo, would I consider giving them permission?

At first I thought it was a joke, especially since the show we had just watched was American Pickers.  Kind of freaky, as if someone had been watching us and sent this joke email.  What are the odds of this being real, I ask you?  But after reading the email about four times over, I figured it was legit and responded.  He sent me a release.  I sent the file.  He told me it would be on last Monday’s show, and there it was!  Cee grabbed her trusty Nikon and snapped a picture of it on screen, along with my name on the credit roll from the end of the show.  You can see it fourth from the bottom.

The picture was taken at a local car show.  American Pickers was doing a segment on Esso gasoline and the old “Tiger in your Tank” promotion.  The company had sold little furry tiger tails to hang from your gas cap.  American Pickers needed a photo and found mine!

Bragging rights, baby!  That’s what it is!

Comments
  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Way too cool!!!! Bragging rights for sure!!!!

  2. […] Bragging Rights – My Picture Was On National TV July 9, 2012 Cee Neuner Leave a comment Go to comments Reblogged from Chris Donner, Mystery Writer: […]

  3. mjspringett says:

    congrats Chris, MJ

  4. helene752 says:

    That is soooooo cool! Love it!

  5. Wow, that’s exciting! How cool! Congratulations, Chris!

  6. Congrats! It is always cool to see someone else appreciative of your work!

  7. Chelle says:

    OMG! That is awesome!!!!!!!!!! Congrats!

  8. Gemma says:

    I saw that show last week, and the photo! Cool! Congrats. I enjoy that show and now I can say I ‘knew’ someone whose work was showcased. Lucky you and FUN!

  9. Gobetween says:

    Strange coincidences, congrats and well done.

  10. Isn’t that cute! Must have been lots of fun, and good for the ego:)

  11. Rois says:

    Congrats! 🙂

  12. THIS IS WONDERFUL. CONGRATULATIONS – YES – YOU SURE DESERVE BRAGGIN’ RIGHTS.
    NICE WORK ….

  13. Fantastic!!!!! Very exciting!! I saw Cee had reblogged this so I came over to the source to say Congrats!!!

  14. Betty Mackey says:

    Way to go, Chris and Cee!!! I remember that bit of tiger in tank history.

  15. Louise says:

    Woo!! That’s fantastic! How cool is that?

  16. Northern Narratives says:

    A big Congrats!

  17. Congrats… how exciting!!! I had a few pics shown on the Weather Channel, but nothing as grand as this!

  18. How awesome! Congratulations.

  19. estherlou says:

    Congratulations. Very cool.

  20. rommel says:

    Can I get you autograph my blog? Hehe
    I better check my 20,000 emails. BWAHAHAHAHA

  21. […] P.S. If you haven’t seen why I have bragging rights, bop on over to my other blog to see my picture on national television. […]

  22. Madhu says:

    How cool! You are a celebrity now!

  23. Iñigo says:

    Oh cool! Can I have your signature???

  24. sued51 says:

    Congratulations, Chris! That’s great…one of life’s fun surprises! Love to hear stories like this!

  25. Carol says:

    How fun! Congratulations to you!

Leave a Reply

